Book 1      Book 2     Book 3

marco, marco, marco polo

the ‘idiot spy’ series
book three of ten

In book three of the ‘idiot spy’ series, the landscape changes, the intensity of conflict exponentially increases, and the body count continues to proliferate.  The group ventures far, far away from the sanctuaries of their farm, hotel, and, ranch to places where the language is different but the quest for the Carbon Factor remains the same.  Key components thought to be informational in the search for the Carbon Factor turn out to be a guise.  The real information was left in a wallet in St. Moritz, and was unwittingly returned to its owner.

The ‘idiot spy’ is hospitalized, and unbelievable information is gathered from his body which was used as a message board.  As the team believes it is closer to solving the mystery of the Carbon Factor, foreign nationals arrive on the scene with the intent of delivering a lethal and bloody message to the group and members of their families for disrupting a drug scheme in Los Angeles.  Agents from another country intervene and members of the team begin to show dedicated interest in this new cast of characters. It will be a glorious day for the group when the factual or fictional formula is in their hands—or not!

conjured and distorted truths

the ‘idiot spy’ series
book two of ten

In book two, confrontations continue at every turn emanating from Zanthius swallowing a capsule that allegedly contained information about a dirty bomb.  The group is hunted by mercs, double-crossed by a family member, and a loved one is dastardly dispatched of.  Their leader sanctions an unspeakable and horrific death for a nemesis.  The group’s Virginia hideout is obliterated.  They venture to a ranch in the Midwest where they root out carpetbaggers preying on ranchers. They begin to prepare for imminent attacks!

The group encounters low-level government employees who freely operate clandestine programs, without checks and balances. They interrupt a so-called détente meeting about an island in the Pacific, but it is actually a drug deal. They recover millions of dollars in payments intended for mercs.  The capsule is retrieved and surrendered to devious government officials.  Inadvertently, important property is returned to Zanthius that is fundamental to locating the formula.

hell, hell, the gang’s all here!

the ‘idiot spy’ series
book one of ten

This story features an unlikely protagonist, Zanthius De Lombardo—a womanizing, self-absorbed, inconsiderate screwup.  After a failed marriage and a suicidal bout with alcoholism, he becomes the HR director for a government-run energy company.  He expects nothing more than watercooler gossip and an occasional office romance.  Instead, Zanthius discovers that the business trip he is sent on is a one-way journey, and that the company is a front for a consortium of off-book assassins and spies. 

Zanthius is caught up in a world of international espionage as governments race to acquire the secret formula for a powerful, cheap dirty bomb.  Zanthius’s once lackluster life is suddenly filled with spies, unscrupulous politicians, terrorists, secret societies, mercenaries, and the threat of death.  His mother reveals information about his father, who, along with eleven of his friends, comes to his rescue. Little by little, the ‘idiot spy’ becomes the man he is meant to be. But is it enough to save the world?

© C. Benjamin Lattimore

Website Designed and Maintained by Web Design Relief